Maugham’s Collected Short Stories

Collected Short Stories
by William Somerset Maugham

These thirty stories, including the piece ‘Rain’, are set in the Pacific Islands, England, France, and Spain.

Collected Short Stories
by W. Somerset Maugham

The stories in this collection move from Malaya to America and England, and include some of Maugham’s most famous tales; ‘Flotsam and Jetsam’, the story of an old woman trapped for years in a loveless marriage in the remote rubber plantations; ‘The Man with the Scar’, and notably the opening story ‘The Vessel of Wrath’, a tale of the unexpected love that grows between a devout missionary nurse and a drunken reprobate. In this second volume of his collected stories, Maugham illustrates his characteristic wry perception of human foibles and his genius for evoking compelling drama from an acute sense of time and place.

Collected Stories
by W. Somerset Maugham


From one of the twentieth century’s most enduringly popular fiction writers: the only hardcover edition of his short stories.


Though W. Somerset Maugham was also famous for his novels and plays, it has been argued that in the short story he reached the pinnacle of his art. These expertly told tales, with their addictive plot twists and vividly drawn characters, are both galvanizing as literature and wonderfully entertaining. In the adventures of his alter ego Ashenden, a writer who (like Maugham himself) turned secret agent in World War I, as well as in stories set in such far-flung locales as South Pacific islands and colonial outposts in Southeast Asia, Maugham brings his characters vividly to life, and their humanity is more convincing for the author’s merciless exposure of their flaws and failures.


Whether the chasms of misunderstanding he plumbs are those between colonizers and natives, between a missionary and a prostitute, or between a poetry-writing woman and her uncomprehending husband, Maugham brilliantly displays his irony, his wit, and his genius in the art of storytelling.

(Book Jacket Status: Jacketed)

Rain and Other South Sea Stories (The Trembling of a Leaf Collection)
by William Somerset Maugham

This carefully crafted ebook: "Rain and Other South Sea Stories (The Trembling of a Leaf Collection)" is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents. William Somerset Maugham (1874 – 1965) was a British playwright, novelist and short story writer. He was among the most popular writers of his era and reputedly the highest paid author during the 1930s. Content: The Trembling of a Leaf: Little Stories of the South Sea Islands The Pacific Mackintosh The Fall of Edward Barnard Red The Pool Honolulu Rain Envoi

The Essential W. Somerset Maugham Collection
by W. Somerset Maugham

Compiled in one book, the essential collection of books by W. Somerset Maugham
The Explorer
The Hero
The Land of Promise
The Land of The Blessed Virgin; Sketches and Impressions in Andalusia
Liza of Lambeth
The Magician
Moon and Sixpence
Of Human Bondage
The Trembling of a Leaf

About apujb86